Who Are We

Jasper County Rural Electric Membership Corporation (REMC) is a not-for-profit electric distribution cooperative. Headquartered in Rensselaer, Indiana, we serve over 8,573 consumers and 9,617 meters across 1,227 miles of line. We serve Jasper and parts of White, Starke, Pulaski, Porter, and Newton counties, in northwest Indiana.

Our Corporation is owned and governed by the people we serve. A board of directors is elected by, and from, our membership. The board sets the policies and guidelines by which we operate. As a consumer of Jasper County REMC, you are also a member/owner of our company which entitles you to vote for the Board of Directors each year online, by mail-in ballot, or in person at the annual meeting.

Strategic Plan

Your co-op’s strategic plan is developed by the board of directors and staff members to address 4 major topics:

  • Progressive Use of Technology
  • Member and Community Engagement
  • Service Reliability
  • Corporate Culture

Our Mission Statement

Jasper County REMC exists to provide reliable electric service to our members and meet their collective energy needs. We are committed to member satisfaction, service excellence and being a responsible citizen in our community.

Our Goals

  • Maintain and enhance the quality of life for our members
  • Promote integrity, professionalism, innovation, and safety
  • Maintain financial stability as a Corporation

The Jasper County REMC board of directors designed a new district map in 2019 based on the number of members in each township. This strategy allows the directors to represent the members more evenly across the service territory. Even though the district footprints might not look ‘even,’ the actual number of members in each district is much more equal.